This Is How It Ends

This Is How It Ends

Three hundred gone. Just six left. The building was once home to families, friends, children, couples, love, life. Now, almost every apartment is empty, the inhabitants forced out by the developers tearing down the old social housing to build luxury homes. Only a few of the inhabitants have fought back against the attempts to evict them from their homes and their histories. And they have been joined by passionate student protester and would-be journalist, Ella, who is leading a high-profile media campaign to protect those who refuse to leave. One night, Ella returns home to find a horrible scene awaiting her-the dead body of a mysterious man. Panicked, she calls her neighbor Molly, who convinces her that the police won't believe she's innocent. Together the two women concoct a gruesome plan to hide the body. But the secret won't stay buried for long. As truth hangs in the balance, a neighbor tells Molly he had heard Ella arguing with a man in the hallway and mistrust grows between Ella and Molly, as repercussions of that night threaten to change both women's lives forever.

This Is How It Ends

A Novel

This Is How It Ends

This is when it begins Fall, 2008. This is where it begins The coast of Dublin, Ireland. This is why it begins Bruno, an American, has come to Ireland to search for his roots. Addie, an out-of-work architect, is recovering from heartbreak while taking care of her infirm father. When their worlds collide, they experience a connection unlike any they've previously felt, but soon a tragedy will test them-and their newfound love-in ways they never imagined possible. This is how it ends . . . A story you will never forget.

This Is How It Ends

This Is How It Ends

After Riley and his friends see some disturbing visions through a mysterious pair of binoculars, they soon realize these hallucinations are coming true, especially as one of Riley's closest friends becomes the prime suspect of a gruesome murder.

Avatars, Book One: So This Is How It Ends

Avatars, Book One: So This Is How It Ends

During an earthquake in the year 2012 five teens are transported seventy-five years into the future, where the end of the world is imminent, and are drawn together by a mysterious force.

This Is How It Ends

This Is How It Ends

Can Billy and Rory navigate zombies, advanced alien life forms, and apocalyptic storms, as well as their growing love?

This Is Not How It Ends

This Is Not How It Ends

From USA Today bestselling author Rochelle B. Weinstein comes a moving novel of hearts lost and found, and of one woman torn between two love stories. When Charlotte and Philip meet, the pair form a deep and instant connection. Soon they're settled in the Florida Keys with plans to marry. But just as they should be getting closer, Charlotte feels Philip slipping away. Second-guessing their love is something Charlotte never imagined, but with Philip's excessive absences, she finds herself yearning for more. When she meets Ben, she ignores the pull, but the supportive single dad is there for her in ways she never knew she desired. Soon Charlotte finds herself torn between the love she thought she wanted and the one she knows she needs. As a hurricane passes through Islamorada, stunning revelations challenge Charlotte's loyalties and upend her life. Forced to reexamine the choices she's made, and has yet to make, Charlotte embarks on an emotional journey of friendship, love, and sacrifice--knowing that forgiveness is a gift, and the best-laid plans can change in a heartbeat. This Is Not How It Ends is a tender, moving story of heartbreak and healing that asks the question: Which takes more courage--holding on or letting go?

How It Ends: From You to the Universe

How It Ends: From You to the Universe

“Remarkably upbeat, and imbued with wit, wisdom and a palpable sense of awe over our universe.”—Tucson Weekly Most of us are aware of our own mortality, but few among us know what science, with insights yielded from groundbreaking new research, has to say about endings on a larger scale. Enter astronomer Chris Impey, who chronicles the death of the whole shebang: individual, species, bio- sphere, Earth, Sun, Milky Way, and, finally, the entire universe. With a healthy dose of humor, How It Ends illuminates everything from the technologies of human life extension and the evolutionary arms race between microbes and men to the inescapable dimming of the Sun and the ultimate “big rip,” giving us a rare glimpse into a universe without us.

Tell Me How It Ends

An Essay in 40 Questions

Tell Me How It Ends

"Part treatise, part memoir, part call to action, Tell Me How It Ends inspires not through a stiff stance of authority, but with the curiosity and humility Luiselli has long since established." —Annalia Luna, Brazos Bookstore "Valeria Luiselli's extended essay on her volunteer work translating for child immigrants confronts with compassion and honesty the problem of the North American refugee crisis. It's a rare thing: a book everyone should read." —Stephen Sparks, Point Reyes Books "Tell Me How It Ends evokes empathy as it educates. It is a vital contribution to the body of post-Trump work being published in early 2017." —Katharine Solheim, Unabridged Books "While this essay is brilliant for exactly what it depicts, it helps open larger questions, which we're ever more on the precipice of now, of where all of this will go, how all of this might end. Is this a story, or is this beyond a story? Valeria Luiselli is one of those brave and eloquent enough to help us see." —Rick Simonson, Elliott Bay Book Company "Appealing to the language of the United States' fraught immigration policy, Luiselli exposes the cracks in this foundation. Herself an immigrant, she highlights the human cost of its brokenness, as well as the hope that it (rather than walls) might be rebuilt." —Brad Johnson, Diesel Bookstore "The bureaucratic labyrinth of immigration, the dangers of searching for a better life, all of this and more is contained in this brief and profound work. Tell Me How It Ends is not just relevant, it's essential." —Mark Haber, Brazos Bookstore "Humane yet often horrifying, Tell Me How It Ends offers a compelling, intimate look at a continuing crisis—and its ongoing cost in an age of increasing urgency." —Jeremy Garber, Powell's Books

Tell Me How It Ends

Tell Me How It Ends

A gripping drama of toxic female friendship, manipulation and revenge, for fans of Patricia Highsmith and Tangerine Delia Maxwell is an international singing sensation, an icon of 1950s glamour who is still riding high on the new 60s scene. Adored by millions, all men want to be with her, all women want to be her. But one woman wants it maybe a little too much... Lily Brooks has watched Delia all her life, studying her music and her on-stage mannerisms. Now she has a dream job as Delia's assistant - but is there more to her attachment than the admiration of a fan? Private investigator Frank is beginning to wonder. As Lily steps into Delia's spotlight, and Delia encourages her ambitious protegée, Frank's suspicions of Lily's ulterior motives increase. But are his own feelings for Delia clouding his judgement? The truth is something far darker: the shocking result of years of pain and rage, rooted in Europe's darkest hour. If Delia thought she had put her past behind her, she had better start watching her back.

How it Ends

How it Ends

Seventeen-year-old Hanna has been in love with Seth for as long as she can remember, but now that her feelings are requited and she and Seth are in an actual relationship, it feels like love just isn't enough. Seth is controlling and all they seem to do anymore is hurt each other. If that's what love is, Hanna doesn't want any part of it. Besides, she has something else on her mind: graduation. But she's been ignoring the school's community service requirement for years, and now she needs to clock in some hours in a hurry. She volunteers as a caretaker for the Schoenmakers, an elderly couple who live on a farm behind Hanna's house. Mrs. Schoenmaker has advanced Parkinson's, and her husband can't always be there to watch over her. While caring for Mrs. Schoenmaker, Hanna gets drawn into an audiobook that the older woman is listening to, a love story of passion and sacrifice and shared hurts and complete devotion. She's fascinated by the idea that love like that can truly exist, and without her even realizing it, the story begins to change her. But what Hanna doesn't know is that the story she's listening to is not fiction -- and that Mrs. Schoenmaker and her husband's devotion to each other is about to reach its shattering, irrevocable conclusion...