The Rich Don't Always Win

The Forgotten Triumph over Plutocracy that Created the American Middle Class, 1900-1970

The Rich Don't Always Win

The Occupy Wall Street protests have captured America's political imagination. Polls show that two-thirds of the nation now believe that America's enormous wealth ought to be "distributed more evenly." However, almost as many Americans--well over half--feel the protests will ultimately have "little impact" on inequality in America. What explains this disconnect? Most Americans have resigned themselves to believing that the rich simply always get their way. Except they don't. A century ago, the United States hosted a super-rich even more domineering than ours today. Yet fifty years later, that super-rich had almost entirely disappeared. Their majestic mansions and estates had become museums and college campuses, and America had become a vibrant, mass middle class nation, the first and finest the world had ever seen. Americans today ought to be taking no small inspiration from this stunning change. After all, if our forbears successfully beat back grand fortune, why can't we? But this transformation is inspiring virtually no one. Why? Because the story behind it has remained almost totally unknown, until now. This lively popular history will speak directly to the political hopelessness so many Americans feel. By tracing how average Americans took down plutocracy over the first half of the 20th Century--and how plutocracy came back-- The Rich Don't Always Win will outfit Occupy Wall Street America with a deeper understanding of what we need to do to get the United States back on track to the American dream.

Why We Can't Afford the Rich

Why We Can't Afford the Rich

"Exposes the unjust and dysfunctional mechanisms that allow the top 1% to siphon off wealth produced by others, through the control of property and money." --Back Cover.

Realizing the Civil Rights Dream: Diagnosing and Treating American Racism

Realizing the Civil Rights Dream: Diagnosing and Treating American Racism

This book explains why America can realize the civil rights dream in the 21st century—if U.S. citizens take actions as individuals as well as work together for equality. • Asks—and answers—the troubling question: Why have the civil rights hopes of the 1960s not yet been realized? • Demonstrates the relationship between what happens in everyday life and racism's persistence • Provides insightful historical context for racism as it exists in the 21st century • Presents a framework for understanding how social forces preserve racism • Offers a refreshingly optimistic perspective that racism can be overcome

Survival of the Richest

How the Corruption of the Marketplace and the Disparity of Wealth Created the Greatest Conspiracy of All

Survival of the Richest

"Survival of the Richest is a fantastically well-researched book, and should join Robert Reich and Barbara Ehrenreich on the must-read bookshelf on wealth disparity."—Dr. Naomi Wolf, CEO, Dailyclout.io A fresh look at economic inequality in America Survival of the Richest scrutinizes how the collective wealth of America has been channeled from the poor and middle class into the hands of a few elitists. American industry has been gutted, with wages and benefits stagnant or reduced, thanks to a disastrous trade deals, outsourcing, and the crippling of unions. The Occupy Wall Street movement, and the presidential campaigns of both Bernie Sanders and Donald Trump, reveals how more and more people who are struggling understand that the system is rigged against them. While Americans have been trained to direct their scorn at welfare recipients and the poor in general, a tiny handful of plutocratic elites have profited on an unfathomable scale through corporate welfare and other perks. Unimaginable salaries and bonuses for the One Percent, contrasted by layoffs and reduced pay for the majority of the workforce, along with increasing calls for austerity measures and lowered standards of living, has become the “new normal” in America. Donald Jeffries argues that this record economic inequality is more than an unintended consequence of globalism. In Survival of the Richest, he shows how the consolidation of wealth may well prove to be the greatest conspiracy of all.

The Next Republic

The Rise of a New Radical Majority

The Next Republic

A book for this moment: Both an assessment of our current political leadership and a vision of those who can bring substantive change. Who are the new progressive leaders emerging to lead the post-Trump return to democracy in America? National political correspondent and award-winning author D.D. Guttenplan's The Next Republic is an extraordinarily intense and wide-ranging account of the recent fall and incipient rise of democracy in America. The Next Republic profiles nine successful activists who are changing the course of American history right now: • new labor activist and author Jane McAlevey • racial justice campaigner (and mayor of Jackson, Mississippi) Chokwe Antar Lumumba • environmental activist (and newly elected chair of the Nebraska Democratic Party) Jane Kleeb • Chicago’s first openly gay Latino public official Carlos Ramirez-Rosa • #ALLOFUS co-founder Waleed Shahid • young architects of Bernie Sanders amazing rise, digerati Corbin Trent and Zack Exley, founders of Brand New Congress • and author and anti-corruption crusader Zephyr Teachout. Additionally, the introduction to The Next Republic ties in the election and first year of the Trump presidency to the current rise of populism of the left, and there are three historical chapters that describe key moments in American history that shed light on current events: the Whiskey Rebellion, the Lincoln Republic, and the Roosevelt Republic. Guttenplan understands the magnitude of the problem of democracy, and at the same time the great possibilities for its resurgence. Like a cross between George Packer's The Unwinding and John F. Kennedy's Profiles in Courage, The Next Republic is both unyielding and deeply hopeful, the first book to come out of the Trump ascendency that stakes a claim for seeing beyond it.

Ann Landers Says

Truth is Stranger ...

Ann Landers Says

Collections of letters reprinted from Ann Lander's syndicated column on many subjects important to adults and teenagers

Travel Team

Travel Team

The #1 Bestseller! Twelve-year-old Danny Walker may be the smallest kid on the basketball court -- but don't tell him that. Because no one plays with more heart or court sense. But none of that matters when he is cut from his local travel team, the very same team his father led to national prominence as a boy. Danny's father, still smarting from his own troubles, knows Danny isn't the only kid who was cut for the wrong reason, and together, this washed-up former player and a bunch of never-say-die kids prove that the heart simply cannot be measured. For fans of The Bad News Bears, Hoosiers, the Mighty Ducks, and Mike Lupica's other New York Times bestselling novels Heat, The Underdogs, and Million-Dollar Throw, here is a book that proves that when the game knocks you down, champions stand tall.

Billionaires

Reflections on the Upper Crust

Billionaires

Meet the Billionaires: the 1,645 men and women who control a massive share of global assets worth $6.5 trillion. Darrell West reveals what the other 99.99998% of us need to know. With rich anecdotes and personal narratives, West goes inside the world of the ultra wealthy. Meet U.S. billionaires such as Sheldon Adelson, Michael Bloomberg, David and Charles Koch, George Soros, Tom Steyer, and Donald Trump—as well as international billionaires from around the globe. The growing political engagement of this small supra-wealthy group raises important questions about influence, transparency, and government performance, and West lays bare the wealthification of politics, including: • How billionaires can block appointments and legislation they don't like • Why the supra-wealthy moved into policy advocacy and referenda at the state level • Why billionaires run for office in more than a dozen countries around the world

You May Get Sold but Don’T Sell My Country

You May Get Sold but Don’T Sell My Country

This book contains details of how tyranny has risen in Bangladesh, the country that was founded in 1971 with the principle of democracy. It hopes to answer why and how the hopes and aspirations of our people have been ruined due to corrupt politicians, intellectuals, and bureaucrats. It hopes to answer why and how the evil totalitarian took place and how the current tyranny has been strengthened in such a horrific stage that the peace-loving people cant express their opinion under the ferocity of Sheikh Hasina. In my writings, I have described the historical background of our country up to the modern tyrannical era, which shouldnt exist anywhere on the face of the planet in the twenty-first century. In my writings, I have described how such an atrocious regime has been strengthened and why shouldnt they be forgiven. Freedom and liberty are the utmost universal values that no human being can sacrifice. In this book, I have passionately written my views based on the real scenarios of Bangladesh and mixed with some essays and poems. Knowing all about the risks, I believe that to live as human beings, we cant surrender to any dictator or oppressive regime. Surrendering to them will strengthen the evils, and we must restrain them by any means. No evil regime should represent any country or a nation or deny the very fundamental rights of their people. And Bangladesh is not an exception. My main objective in writing this book is to protect the people of our country, Bangladesh, and its sovereignty. God bless Bangladesh and the entirety of mankind. Mohammed D. Hussain