Say No to the Duke

Say No to the Duke

'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James' Julia Quinn A wager pits an adventure in disguise against a scandalous night with a rake in the light-hearted, sexy, new Wildes of Lindow Castle romance by New York Times bestselling author Eloisa James. Lady Betsy Wilde's first season was triumphant by any measure, and a duke has proposed - but before marriage, she longs for one last adventure. No gentleman would agree to her scandalous plan - but Lord Jeremy Roden is no gentleman. He offers a wager. If she wins a billiards game, he'll provide the breeches. If he wins . . . she is his, for one wild night. But what happens after Jeremy realises that one night will never be enough? He'll have to convince Betsy to say no to the duke. The fourth book in New York Times bestselling Eloisa James's new series, the Wildes of Lindow Castle, is perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses The Wildes of Lindow Castle series: Wilde in Love Too Wilde to Wed Born to Be Wilde Reluctantly a Lady Praise for Eloisa James: 'Eloisa James is extraordinary' Lisa Kleypas 'Smart heroines, sensual heroes, witty repartee and a penchant for delicious romance have made James a fan favorite . . . readers will be hooked from beginning to end' RT Book Reviews 'Romance writing does not get much better than this' People 'Eloisa James writes with a captivating blend of charm, style, and grace that never fails to leave the reader sighing and smiling and falling in love' Julia Quinn 'Charming, romantic and unexpectedly funny' Kirkus

Say Yes to the Duke

Say Yes to the Duke

'Nothing gets me to a bookstore faster than Eloisa James' Julia Quinn The fifth book in New York Times bestselling Eloisa James's new series, the Wildes of Lindow Castle, perfect for fans of Julia Quinn's Bridgertons and Eloisa's Desperate Duchesses Miss Viola Astley is so painfully shy that she's horrified by the mere idea of dancing with a stranger; her upcoming London debut feels like a nightmare. So she's overjoyed to meet handsome, quiet vicar with no interest in polite society - but just when she catches his attention, her reputation is compromised by a duke. Devin Lucas Augustus Elstan, Duke of Wynter, will stop at nothing to marry Viola, including marrying a woman whom he believes to be in love with another man. A vicar, no less. Devin knows he's no saint, but he's used to conquest, and he's determined to win Viola's heart. Viola has already said Yes to his proposal, but now he wants her unruly heart . . . and he won't accept No for an answer. The Wildes of Lindow Castle series: Wilde in Love Too Wilde to Wed Born to Be Wilde Say No to the Duke Say Yes to the Duke Praise for Eloisa James: 'Eloisa James is extraordinary' Lisa Kleypas 'Smart heroines, sensual heroes, witty repartee and a penchant for delicious romance have made James a fan favorite . . . readers will be hooked from beginning to end' RT Book Reviews 'Romance writing does not get much better than this' People 'Eloisa James writes with a captivating blend of charm, style, and grace that never fails to leave the reader sighing and smiling and falling in love' Julia Quinn 'Charming, romantic and unexpectedly funny' Kirkus

Say Yes to the Duke

Say Yes to the Duke

SAY YES TO THE DUKE Kieran Kramer Janice Sherwood wants to marry for love, but she's failed to make a match after two Seasons. Her parents, the Marquess and Marchioness of Brady, arrange to send her to the Duke of Halsey's country estate as a short-term guest of his grandmother, the dowager, in hopes that she might win the duke's affections. What they never could have imagined is that Janice would fall for the ruggedly handsome servant Luke, who lives in the stables and carries an air of mystery and temptation. When Luke Callahan learns that he is the legitimate heir to a dukedom, he will stop at nothing to claim what is his. But first, he must begin a game of disguise to secure his rightful inheritance. Janice isn't part of his plan. But by engaging her in this dance of deception, might he lose her forever?

The Dragonfly Pool

The Dragonfly Pool

The Dragonfly Pool by Eva Ibbotson is an enchanting tale of friendship and determination during the Second World War, from the author of The Star of Kazan. Tally Hamilton is furious to hear she is being sent from London to a horrid, stuffy boarding school in the countryside. And all because of the stupid war. But Delderton Hall is a far more interesting place than Tally ever imagined, and an exciting school trip to the beautiful and luscious kingdom of Bergania whisks Tally into an unexpected adventure . . . will she be able to save her new friend, Prince Karil, before it's too late?

The Lady of the Rivers

The Lady of the Rivers

When the death of Joan of Arc shows her the dangers faced by strong women, Jacquetta, a psychic descendant of a river goddess, studies alchemy and becomes the secret wife of Richard Woodville before returning to the court of Henry VI.

Choice Not Chance

Rules for Building a Fierce Competitor

Choice Not Chance

Foreword by Mike Krzyzewski, Duke’s Men Basketball Coach A celebrated coach reveals the secrets to building a fierce competitor At age 26, Joanne P. McCallie, a.k.a. Coach P, began her career at Maine, where in the span of eight years, she elevated the women's basketball program to a very competitive team that outdrew the men's crowds, a rarity in college sports. Over her tenure, she created the Choice Not Chance (CNC) philosophy, training kids how to think and focus on making the correct choices in life. She imparted her passionate philosophy to all of her players and now brings it to her efforts as head coach at Duke. Choice Not Chancehighlights McCallie's lessons for building a fierce competitor, such as "Going against the grain," "Never become satisfied," and "Enjoy the prospect of getting better daily." The CNC philosophy is widely used by McCallie, her staff, and players, who are very active in the community speaking about "CNC." Joanne P. McCallie is head coach of the Duke Women's Basketball team and was the ACC Coach of the Year in 2010 McCallie became the first coach in Division I history to be crowned champion in four different conferences, as well as the first coach in NCAA history to garner coach of the year accolades in four different leagues A native of Brunswick, Maine, McCallie owns a career mark of 431-174 and is entering her 20th year as a head coach at Maine, Michigan State and Duke; as a coach and player, she has led her teams to 15 conference titles, 19 NCAA Tournament appearances, seven NCAA Sweet 16 appearances, five NCAA Elite Eight appearances, three NCAA Final Four appearances and three NCAA Championship game appearances During the 2004-05 season at Michigan State, she won the Big Ten Regular Season and Tournament Championship en route to a National Championship game appearance. For her efforts she was named the Associated Press National Coach of the Year McCallie has taught her teams to play with passion and fight hard for recognition, and her teams have achieved remarkable success. Apply her wisdom to your teams, your employees, and your own life.

The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature

The Blackwell Companion to the Bible in English Literature

This Companion explores the Bible's role and influence onindividual writers, whilst tracing the key developments of Biblicalthemes and literary theory through the ages. An ambitious overview of the Bible's impact on Englishliterature – as arguably the most powerful work of literaturein history – from the medieval period through to thetwentieth-century Includes introductory sections to each period giving backgroundinformation about the Bible as a source text in English literature,and placing writers in their historical context Draws on examples from medieval, early-modern,eighteenth-century and Romantic, Victorian, and Modernistliterature Includes many 'secular' or 'anti-clerical' writers alongsidetheir 'Christian' contemporaries, revealing how the Bible's textshifts and changes in the writing of each author who reads andstudies it

The Northern Keep

The Northern Keep

There is no available information at this time.

The Duke of Windsor's War

The Duke of Windsor's War

Drawing on unique sources, Michael Bloch describes the career of the Duke of Windsor during the Second World War.As a military liaison officer in France during 1939-40, he issued warnings which, had they been heeded, might have avoided the defeat of France;as Governor of the Bahamas 1940-45, he succeeded in what was regarded as one of the most difficult posts in the British Empire.But at the same time he and his wife (to marry whom he had given up a throne) had a second war to contend with - against King George VI and Queen Elizabeth who were determined to treat them as outcasts.This book caused a furore on publication, being the first work to give a detailed account of the bitter relations between the ex-King and his family.

William Shakespeare: The Complete Works

William Shakespeare: The Complete Works

The second Oxford edition of Shakespeare's Complete Works reconsiders every detail of their text and presentation in the light of modern scholarship. The nature and authority of the early documents are re-examined, and the canon and chronological order of composition freshly established. Spelling and punctuation are modernized, and there is a brief introduction to each work, as well as an illuminating and informative General Introduction. Included here for the first time is the play The Reign of King Edward the Third as well as the full text of Sir Thomas More. This new edition also features an essay on Shakespeare's language by David Crystal, and a bibliography of foundational works.