Like Sonny Hit a Tree!

We Have the World in our Hands

Like Sonny Hit a Tree!

In 1998, Congressman Sonny Bono, who came to fame as part of the singing duo Sonny & Cher, died while skiing alone near South Lake Tahoe, Nevada. After his music career ended, Salvatore Phillip “Sonny” Bono became mayor of Palm Springs, California, and in 1995 was named congressman for California’s 44th district. As a freshman congressman, he tried to shake things up in Washington. Former policeman Thomas Lee Gorzynski’s new investigative book Like Sonny Hit a Tree probes into whether his death was really an accident. The author also delves into the mysterious death of writer Danny Casolaro, who was about to reveal a massive government plot. He was found dead in a Martinsburg, West Virginia hotel in 1991 with his wrists slashed ten to twelve times. Are these two deaths connected? Joseph Daniel Casolaro’s cause of death was controversial because he was in Martinsburg to meet a source on a story he called “the Octopus.” His investigation involved an international government collaboration concerning the Iran-Contra scandal and other business plots. Before heading for Martinsburg, he told his brother that if something happened to him in Martinsburg, it would not be an accident.

The Sonny Baca Novels

Zia Summer, Rio Grande Fall, Shaman Winter, and Jemez Spring

The Sonny Baca Novels

Four suspenseful southwestern mystery novels featuring a Chicano PI in New Mexico, by the “extraordinary” author of Bless Me, Ultima (Los Angeles Times Book Review). These four novels starring detective Sonny Baca are set against the lush terrain of the American Southwest, blending its Spanish, Mexican, and Native American cultures. Zia Summer: Sonny Baca’s cousin Gloria is brutally slain, her body found drained of blood with a Zia sun sign—the symbol on the New Mexican flag—carved on her stomach. His quest to find her killer leads Baca across New Mexico’s diverse South Valley to an environmental compound and a terrifying brujo. Rio Grande Fall: A woman plummets to her death from a hot air balloon during Albuquerque’s famous Balloon Fiesta—and Baca recognizes it as no accident. Shaman Winter: Baca, confined to a wheelchair after a violent encounter, is haunted by chilling dreams, but has no other choice than to go to work when the Santa Fe mayor’s teenage daughter disappears and the trail leads to a charismatic and dangerous shaman. Jemez Spring: A high-profile murder ignites a hotbed of political treachery and terrorist threats that take Baca to Los Alamos, pitting him against a formidable foe and a nuclear bomb. Unrelentingly suspenseful, with vivid details of the physical and spiritual landscape of northern New Mexico, these mysteries are perfect for fans of Margaret Coel or James D. Doss.

The Greatest: My Own Story

The Greatest: My Own Story

In his own words, the heavyweight champion of the world pulls no punches as he chronicles the battles he faced in and out of the ring in this fascinating memoir edited by Nobel Prize-winning novelist, Toni Morrison. Growing up in the South, surrounded by racial bigotry and discrimination, Ali fought not just for a living, but also for respect and rewards far more precious than money or glory. He was named Sportsman of the Century by Sports Illustrated and the BBC. Ali redefined what it meant to be an athlete by giving hope to millions around the world and inspiring us all to fight for what is important to us. This is a multifaceted portrait of Muhammad Ali only he could render: sports legend; unapologetic anti-war advocate; outrageous showman and gracious goodwill ambassador; fighter, lover, poet, and provocateur; an irresistible force to be reckoned with. Who better to tell the tale than the man who went the distance living it?

Delphi Complete Works of George MacDonald (Illustrated)

Delphi Complete Works of George MacDonald (Illustrated)

A pioneering author of fantasy literature and the mentor of Lewis Carroll, George MacDonald produced a diverse body of works, including realist novels, children’s fantasy classics, innovative short stories, leading poetry and a range of non-fiction texts. For the first time in publishing history, this comprehensive eBook presents MacDonald’s complete works, with numerous illustrations, rare texts, informative introductions and the usual Delphi bonus material. (Version 1) * Beautifully illustrated with images relating to MacDonald’s life and works * Concise introductions to the novels and other texts * ALL 37 novels, with individual contents tables * Rare novels, like GUILD COURT, available in no other digital collection * Images of how the books were first printed, giving your eReader a taste of the Victorian texts * Excellent formatting of the texts * Famous works such as THE PRINCESS AND THE GOBLIN are fully illustrated with their original artwork * Special chronological and alphabetical contents tables for the poetry and the short stories * Rare short stories often missed out of collections * Easily locate the poems or short stories you want to read * Includes MacDonald’s non-fiction - spend hours exploring the author’s complete works * Special bonus biography - discover MacDonald’s literary life * Scholarly ordering of texts into chronological order and literary genres Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles CONTENTS: The Novels PHANTASTES DAVID ELGINBROD ADELA CATHCART THE PORTENT ALEC FORBES OF HOWGLEN ANNALS OF A QUIET NEIGHBOURHOOD GUILD COURT ROBERT FALCONER THE SEABOARD PARISH AT THE BACK OF THE NORTH WIND RANALD BANNERMAN’S BOYHOOD WILFRID CUMBERMEDE THE VICAR’S DAUGHTER THE PRINCESS AND THE GOBLIN THE HISTORY OF GUTTA PERCHA WILLIE, THE WORKING GENIUS THE WISE WOMAN: A PARABLE MALCOLM ST. GEORGE AND ST. MICHAEL THOMAS WINGFOLD, CURATE THE MARQUIS OF LOSSIE PAUL FABER, SURGEON SIR GIBBIE MARY MARSTON WARLOCK O’ GLENWARLOCK WEIGHED AND WANTING THE DAY BOY AND THE NIGHT GIRL DONAL GRANT THE PRINCESS AND CURDIE WHAT’S MINE’S MINE HOME AGAIN THE ELECT LADY THE FLIGHT OF THE SHADOW A ROUGH SHAKING THERE AND BACK HEATHER AND SNOW LILITH SALTED WITH FIRE The Shorter Fiction DEALINGS WITH THE FAIRIES WORKS OF FANCY AND IMAGINATION THE GIFTS OF THE CHILD CHRIST AND OTHER TALES FAR ABOVE RUBIES The Short Stories LIST OF SHORT STORIES IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER LIST OF SHORT STORIES IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER The Poetry INTRODUCTION TO MACDONALD’S POETRY LIST OF POEMS IN CHRONOLOGICAL ORDER LIST OF POEMS IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER The Non-Fiction UNSPOKEN SERMONS ENGLAND’S ANTIPHON THE MIRACLES OF OUR LORD PREFACE: ‘LETTERS FROM HELL’ BY VALDEMAR ADOLPH THISTED THE TRAGEDIE OF HAMLET, PRINCE OF DENMARKE: A STUDY WITH THE TEST OF THE FOLIO OF 1623 UNSPOKEN SERMONS, SECOND SERIES PREFACE: ‘FOR THE RIGHT’ BY KARL EMIL FRANZOS, 1888 UNSPOKEN SERMONS, THIRD SERIES PREFACE: ‘A CABINET OF GEMS, CUT AND POLISHED BY SIR PHILIP SIDNEY’ THE HOPE OF THE GOSPEL A DISH OF ORTS BEAUTIFUL THOUGHTS FROM GEORGE MACDONALD The Biography GEORGE MACDONALD, A BIOGRAPHICAL AND CRITICAL APPRECIATION by Joseph Johnson Please visit www.delphiclassics.com to browse through our range of exciting titles

Sweet Eyes

Sweet Eyes

Sweet Eyes is the wondrous story of the young woman Honey Parrish, who becomes involved in an interracial love affair and struggles to solve longstanding mysteries in her hometown and to move beyond her family?s troubled past.

Congressional Record

Proceedings and Debates of the ... Congress

Congressional Record

The Congressional Record is the official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session. The Congressional Record began publication in 1873. Debates for sessions prior to 1873 are recorded in The Debates and Proceedings in the Congress of the United States (1789-1824), the Register of Debates in Congress (1824-1837), and the Congressional Globe (1833-1873)

Harper's Magazine

Harper's Magazine

Important American periodical dating back to 1850.

Harper's New Monthly Magazine

Harper's New Monthly Magazine

Harper's informs a diverse body of readers of cultural, business, political, literary and scientific affairs.

Bluesman

Bluesman

It is the summer of 1967 and, with one more year of high school to go, Leo Suther still has a lot to learn. He's in love with Allie Donovan, the beautiful girl who has turned his head ever since she moved to his small Massachusetts town. And he feels a real draw to the blues his father has taught him. Leo soon finds himself in the middle of a consuming love affair - and an intense testing of his political values by Allie's father, who challenges him on the escalating Vietnam conflict and forces him to examine just where he stands in relation to the people in his life. Throughout his - and the nation's - unforgettable 'summer of love', Leo is learning the language of the blues, which seem to echo the mourning he feels for his dead mother, his occasionally distant father, and the youth that is fast giving way to manhood.