Families, Labour and Love

Families, Labour and Love

Annotation "We think of family life as very personal, but in fact it is shaped by influences well beyond our control. Families, Labour and Love identifies the ways in which family and personal life in three 'settler' societies - Australia, New Zealand, and Canada - have been shaped by colonization, immigration, globalization, demographic changes, law, and policy." "Baker shows that these three countries, each a former colony, developed similar family trends and similar family policies. The family practices of indigenous people were largely overlooked, as were those of recent immigrant groups. Strongly gendered patterns of paid and unpaid work played a major role in family life. Nevertheless, local conditions also produced significant differences in family experiences among the three countries." "Containing numerous examples, comparative data, and textual sources, Families, Labour and Love provides a wide-ranging analysis of the family that will appeal to students, researchers, and policy-makers."--BOOK JACKET. Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved.

More Than a Labour of Love

Three Generations of Women's Work in the Home

More Than a Labour of Love

Originally published in 1980, this new edition of More Than a Labour of Love is the first of our Women's Press Classics series, which celebrates our most enduring titles. Based on participant observation and in-depth interviews, this book describes the work women do in their homes, caring for children and partners, and maintaining the house. It shows how their lives are shaped by domestic responsibilities and challenges the ways in which their work is neither recognized nor valued. Arguing that the work they do is socially necessary and central to the economy, it calls for a transformation of current social and economic relations.

Labour of Love

Labour of Love

This is the story of Robert Smiliie,MP and trailblazing trade unionist who was born into poverty in Belfast in 1857. He moved to Scotland when he was 15 to join his brother James and became a miner at 17 in Larkhall. This opened his eyes to the way miners were treated by the mine owners and he realised that strong unions and the creation of a political party to represent the working classes was desperately needed. He was secretary of the Larkhall Miners and helped form the Lanarkshire Miners' Association. He became friends with Keir Hardie and together they rose through the ranks of the Labour movement. In 1888 he was a founder of the Scottish Labour Party.

A Labour of Love

Sometimes true love can be found in the unlikeliest of places...

A Labour of Love

Two young people come face to face with the trials and tribulations of life and love. Anne Baker's A Labour of Love is a heart-warming saga of family ties, romance and finding true happiness. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp. It's 1980s Merseyside and teenage cousins Sophie and Charlie are at a turning point in each of their lives. Sophie, seventeen years old and stunning, falls in love with Darrell, the school caretaker, who has plans to make it big with his rock band. But when Sophie discovers that she's pregnant, her relationship with Darrell comes to an end. Though happiness is on the horizon for Sophie, it will take her time to realise who she is destined to be with. Charlie, eighteen and having struggled at school, is unhappy in his job as a chef. With Sophie's help, Charlie joins the family business with surprising results... What readers are saying about A Labour of Love: 'This book... covers many dramatic, traumatic and unexpected events. I very much wanted to know what would happen next and how the characters would find their way ahead. It was a very thought-provoking read' 'As ever, Anne Baker's book A Labour of Love is a brilliant read... it is awe inspiring'

The Work of Faith

The Labour of Love, and the Patience of Hope, Illustrated; in the Life and Death of the Rev. Andrew Fuller, Late Pastor of the Baptist Church at Kettering, and Secretary to the Baptist Missionary Society ... Chiefly Extracted from His Own Papers

The Work of Faith