How Starbucks Saved My Life

A Son of Privilege Learns to Live Like Everyone Else

How Starbucks Saved My Life

Now in paperback, the national bestselling riches-to-rags true story of an advertising executive who had it all, then lost it all—and was finally redeemed by his new job, and his twenty-eight-year-old boss, at Starbucks. In his fifties, Michael Gates Gill had it all: a mansion in the suburbs, a wife and loving children, a six-figure salary, and an Ivy League education. But in a few short years, he lost his job, got divorced, and was diagnosed with a brain tumor. With no money or health insurance, he was forced to get a job at Starbucks. Having gone from power lunches to scrubbing toilets, from being served to serving, Michael was a true fish out of water. But fate brings an unexpected teacher into his life who opens his eyes to what living well really looks like. The two seem to have nothing in common: She is a young African American, the daughter of a drug addict; he is used to being the boss but reports to her now. For the first time in his life he experiences being a member of a minority trying hard to survive in a challenging new job. He learns the value of hard work and humility, as well as what it truly means to respect another person. Behind the scenes at one of America’s most intriguing businesses, an inspiring friendship is born, a family begins to heal, and, thanks to his unlikely mentor, Michael Gill at last experiences a sense of self-worth and happiness he has never known before. Watch a QuickTime trailer for this book.

Once Upon a Gospel

Inspiring Homilies and Insightful Reflections

Once Upon a Gospel

When the words great homily come to mind, the name Bill Bausch inevitably pops up. Here he offers 100 new homilies, reflecting the liturgical year, holy days and holidays, and saying farewell to loved ones. All are shaped and finessed with stories. As Bausch himself says, We never exhaust the meaning of a good story. Truth wrapped in story is irresistibleand thats why I use stories. These homilies are irresistible as well!

How to Save Your Own Life

15 Inspiring Lessons Including: Finding Blessings in Disguise, Coping with Life's Greatest Challanges, and Discovering Happiness at Any Age

How to Save Your Own Life

The brain tumor survivor and author of How Starbucks Saved My Life shares lessons for surviving unanticipated life challenges, from taking leaps of faith and overcoming pride to treating others with respect and minimizing one's reliance on technology. 100,000 first printing.

What is Psychology?

What is Psychology?

Ellen Pastorino and Susann Doyle-Portillo are dedicated, award-winning psychology professors with an infectious enthusiasm for teaching psychology. Praised in previous editions for fostering students’ curiosity, WHAT IS PSYCHOLOGY? Third Edition, extends the authors’ successful and engaging approach to teaching the introductory psychology course. Pastorino and Doyle-Portillo have found that when students are curious they are motivated to explore and truly learn how psychological concepts are connected. This text unlocks students’ curiosity by capturing their interest and motivating them to make connections between memorable personal stories, applications to their own lives, and psychological concepts that they will use and retain in and out of the classroom. Important Notice: Media content referenced within the product description or the product text may not be available in the ebook version.

Every Choice Matters

An Inspiring and Practical Guide to Living a Rich and Meaningful Life

Every Choice Matters

Rarely does success or failure result from one choice, or one lucky break, but rather the quality of your life is determined by the multitude of small choices that you make on a regular basis. To create a rich and meaningful life you need to honour your essential nature, know what motivates and challenges you and what your raw potential is. If you choose to develop your raw potential and share your gifts with others you find your true purpose. Who you are today is a result of the conscious and unconscious decisions you made about yourself up to now. Who you will be tomorrow is still undecided. Every time you act on a choice which empowers you, you reinforce the belief that you can have what you want, and your life begins to change. It's not what happens to you that determines how you feel and what you can do or have. It's the daily choices that you act upon. This book is a practical map for making every day choices which determine the quality of your life.

Capital Intelectual

Capital Intelectual

The upcoming events are an inside look into the mind of a sinister, heartless, satanic, fascist-killer named Borigard Mires, and his sick, twisted plots to turn all that is Godly into pure evil. It starts out with Borigard a.k.a. The Soul Jacker talking to his followers in his hideout in the woods. (in a remote area somewhere in western Wyandotte County KS.) Jacker: "Damn, if it weren't for those nigger preachers talkin' 'bout Jesus all the fuckin' time, I could rule the world for our Lord Satan." Follower: "But master, we have all the other religions and the rest of those fuckers that don't believe that Christ is the Savior." Jacker: "So fuckin' what. Followers of Christ have the power to destroy us." (A multitude of children scream for their lives while being raped and executed.) In my twenty years of worship to Satan, never have I had any opposition until now! Shank, Chief Warlock: "Soul Jacker tell me who it is, so we can rape, torture and kill them." (A crowd of followers shouted paganistic, homicidal chants.) Jacker: "It's nobody but a stupid Jap' named Zinshanto Mitsuki." Throughout generations his family was given by God, two holy necklaces with the powers of the Holy Spirit and the universe. They would kill all the demons my family summoned from hell.

Relevance

Making Stuff That Matters

Relevance

After years studying remarkable companies and speaking to some of the most influential leaders around, Tim Manners has discovered a solution to the marketing woes of many brands. Stop worrying about demographics, fads, and cutting-edge advertising. Instead, focus on relevance. Manners shares how the best of the best create solutions to their customers’ problems and help them live happier lives. You’ll learn how: Levi’s reasserted relevance when it created wardrobe solutions for men. Dunkin’ Donuts stopped trying to mimic the look and feel of Starbucks and found success by delivering a simple, quick cup of joe. Hasbro reinvented board games for today’s time-pressed consumers. Kleenex’s new germ-fighting tissues helped keep the company relevant by turning a useful product into a necessary one. Staples stopped wasting its shoppers’ time with extraneous products. Nintendo’s simple design for the Wii appealed to consumers of all ages and game designers alike, allowing it to outsell its competitors. The path to sustainable growth for your brand begins with designing meaningful solutions and providing them when and where people need them most. Relevance will teach you how to become—and remain—indispensable.

Southern Fried Fiction

How the Insidious Onset of Depression Derailed a Successful Man's Life

Southern Fried Fiction

Stuart Hotchkiss is at the end of his rope. Underemployment, bankruptcy, and a looming third divorce have worn him down. His mother has died. He's estranged from his own son. Death seems like a release. The son of a once great southern family, Hotchkiss spent his early life struggling to escape familial expectations and secrets. He paid for his own education and eventually secured a position as president of a national media conglomerate, only to resign a year later and bring senseless litigation that rendered him permanently underemployed. Southern Fried Fiction is all that a memoir should be-a captivating story, real and raw, with a healthy dose of humor to carry readers through the pain of its author's loss and past mistakes. Through it, Hotchkiss eloquently exorcises the demons of his climb toward success, capping it off with a spark of hope beyond the veil of his near suicide, one that even the most cynical of us can find inspiration in. In the vein of Russell Baker's Growing Up and Michael Gates Gill's How Starbucks Saved My Life, Hotchkiss's memoir is a moving account of one man's battle to overcome his demons and start over.

Wild Company

The Untold Story of Banana Republic

Wild Company

A Simon & Schuster eBook. Simon & Schuster has a great book for every reader.