Emma's Duty

(Emma Trilogy 3)

Emma's Duty

The war is over, but Emma’s battles continue at home... Emma Reece is slowly adjusting to her husband’s return from the war, even though his appalling injuries mean their marriage is in name only. But then tragedy strikes, and Emma finds she cannot turn to Jack Harvey, her long-standing friend and one-time lover – for while he still loves her, he is now a married man... The final instalment in the ‘Emma’ trilogy, from Rosie Clarke, the author of The Downstairs Maid (Note: previously published as The Hearts that Hold by Linda Sole)

Emma's War

(Emma Trilogy 2)

Emma's War

All she wanted was her husband to come home... Newly married to the caring RAF pilot Jonathan Reece, Emma thinks that life couldn’t be better. But her happiness is short-lived: within months, Jon’s plane is shot down over France and he is declared missing, presumed dead. Alone and with two children to care for, Emma’s first thought is how to support her family. But when she makes a new friend in the American businessman Jack Harvey, she is faced with a difficult decision. Should she take a last chance at happiness? The second book in the ‘Emma’ trilogy – a warm, nostalgic saga, perfect for fans of Katie Flynn (Note: previously published as The Bonds That Break by Linda Sole)

Emma in Love

Emma in Love

Two years after Emma Woodhouse married Mr Knightley and they have settled into loving, if not quite passionate, matrimony; Emma is bored. To amuse herself, Emma decides to take up matchmaking again, whether her husband will have it or not. But this time Emma is playing for dangerously high stakes. Recently widowed John Knightley, her brother-in-law, is in need of a wife, so when a fascinating French woman enters Highbury society, Emma sees a golden opportunity. Eliza d'Arblay is of French aristocrat whose parents fled the French Revolution. Beautiful, intriguing and romantic, Emma deems her to be the perfect match for John. But as Eliza charms Highbury society, John isn't the only one who falls deeply in love with her...a passion awakes in Emma that she never would have expected.

Jane Austen on Screen

Jane Austen on Screen

This collection of essays explores the literary and cinematic implications of translating Austen's prose into film. Contributors raise questions of how prose fiction and cinema differ, of how mass commercial audiences require changes to script and character, and of how continually remade films evoke memories of earlier productions. The essays represent widely divergent perspectives, from literary 'purists' suspicious of filmic renderings of Austen to film-makers who see the text as a stimulus for producing exceptional cinema. This comprehensive study will be of interest to students and teachers alike.

An Approach to Translation Criticism

Emma and Madame Bovary in Translation

An Approach to Translation Criticism

Lance Hewson's book on translation criticism sets out to examine ways in which a literary text may be explored as a translation, not primarily to judge it, but to understand where the text stands in relation to its original by examining the interpretative potential that results from the translational choices that have been made. After considering theoretical aspects of translation criticism, Hewson sets out a method of analysing originals and their translations on three different levels. Tools are provided to describe translational choices and their potential effects, and applied to two corpora: Flaubert's Madame Bovary and six of the English translations, and Austen's Emma, with three of the French translations. The results of the analyses are used to construct a hypothesis about each translation, which is classified according to two scales of measurement, one distinguishing between "just" and "false" interpretations, and the other between "divergent similarity", "relative divergence", "radical divergence" and "adaptation".

Heloise

Or The Unrevealed Secret. A Tale

Heloise


Nimo's War, Emma's War

Making Feminist Sense of the Iraq War

Nimo's War, Emma's War

"Nimo's War, Emma's War is unique in examining the gendered dimension of the Iraq war, particularly its impact on ordinary Iraqi and American women, thereby revealing an important long-term cost of the conflict. Cynthia Enloe's approach and analysis are extremely original and innovative."--Nadje Al-Ali, author of What Kind of Liberation?: Women and the Occupation of Iraq "Nimo's War, Emma's War is Cynthia Enloe's darkest and most strikingly conceived text to date. War is not 'in' Iraq and Afghanistan, where foreign militaries confront local people, rather it is everywhere, most particularly in 'peacetime' domestic spaces, 'civilian' employment, marital bedrooms and high schools."--Terrell Carver, author of Politics, Language and Metaphor "Cynthia Enloe has pioneered the subject of women, militarism, and war in a series of revelatory books, including Bananas, Beaches, and Bases, The Morning After: Sexual Politics at the End of the Cold War, and Maneuvers: The International Politics of Militarizing Women's Lives. Nimo's War, Emma's War is her best one yet."--Chalmers Johnson, author of The Blowback Trilogy "Brilliantly researched, vividly written, Cynthia Enloe has gifted us with a new and different story of modern warfare. Entirely gripping and profoundly humane, every page raises new issues. To factor in Nimo and Emma--all the women and families touched by the carnage and agony of war, is to see the bitter range of tragedy community by community. To read this book is to ask: What are we doing to our children--all our children, combatants and civilians? How do women cope with post-war wounds and violence--agony, wreckage, displacement? Cynthia Enloe's book is essential reading for all students and journalists, public citizens and peace activists, who seek women's dignity, healthy societies, humane alternatives to the insanity of careless military destruction."--Blanche Wiesen Cook, author of The Declassified Eisenhower, Eleanor Roosevelt (vols I & II, III forthcoming)

Emma's Promise

Emma's Promise

Emma's Promise, the first book in the Northwoods Adventures Series, is filled with romance and suspense. Paramedic Tyler McGillis rescues Emma Dawson, but in the end, who saves whom?

In the Line of Duty

In the Line of Duty

The power of reasoning and skill make this story exciting as our hero races to rescue his wife from the clutches of a crazed maniac.