Alley Urchin

Alley Urchin

A captivating historical romance of revenge, hatred, lust and true loveIt is 1870 and Emma Grady has spent seven years of servitude as a convict in Australia. Now, having earned her ticket-of-leave, she is held by chains of honour and friendship. Emma’s loyalty to her kind and gentle employer Roland Thomas, and her unwillingness to desert fellow convict and beloved friend Nelly, prevent her from leaving. Yet Emma lives for the days when she will return to England, to face those who cheated and betrayed her. And to Marlow Tanner, the man she loves, and whose tragic child she lost. As Emma battles against adversity, she is unaware that in England the child she has given up for dead is being lovingly raised by Marlow’s sister Old Sal. Will Emma ever be reunited with Marlow? And even if she finds him, will he still love her? Despite seemingly insurmountable obstacles, her love can never be denied, or forgotten. The breathtaking second novel of The Emma Grady Sagas is perfect for fans of Fiona Davis and Beatriz Williams ‘Cox’s talent as a storyteller never lets you escape’ Daily Mail ‘Driven and passionate’ The Sunday Times ‘One of the country's best-loved storytellers’ Prima

The Emma Grady Trilogy

Outcast, Alley Urchin and Vagabonds

The Emma Grady Trilogy

Three bestselling novels by Josephine Cox in one - a gorgeous package and unbeatable value! OUTCAST One fateful night, Thadius Grady blindly entrusts his entire fortune and his beloved daughter, Emma, to his sister and her conniving, wicked husband, Caleb Crowther. But Caleb lives in fear of the past - that seems likely to repeat itself now that Emma has met and fallen in love with a young bargee, Marlow Tanner... ALLEY URCHIN Emma Grady has spent seven years in servitude as a convict in Australia. She lives for the day when she will return to England and her beloved Marlow Tanner. Meanwhile, her child given up for dead, is being raised by Marlow's sister, Old Sal... VAGABONDS Emma has returned to Blackburn, happy, but still haunted by the past. Molly, her estranged daughter, is living in fear of Caleb Crowther tracking her down. She runs away with her children to become vagabonds. Their life at times is almost unbearable, but she has inherited Emma's indomitable spirit...

Growing Up...sort of

Growing Up...sort of

Bob Hannah has always enjoyed writing prose and poetry. He has written stories and poems to celebrate birthdays and special occasions over the years. While living in a condominium community in Avon, Connecticut, he wrote a monthly column called Valley Adventures for the community's publication, In the Woods. Over the course of his lifetime, he has regaled his family with many of the stories contained in this book. His four children and his dear friend Jean urged him to commit these stories to paper so they would be preserved for future generations. Despite failing eyesight and the physical challenges he faces at age ninety-two, his talents as a writer and his perseverance to leave a legacy of memories resulted in the publication of Growing Up...sort of, his first book.

American Musical Theater

A Chronicle

American Musical Theater

Provides season-by-season, show-by-show coverage of the American musical, from 1767 to the present, giving a plot synopsis, an idea of the physical production, and principal statistics for each show.

Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus

Oxford American Writer's Thesaurus

Features more than three hundred thousand synonyms and ten thousand antonyms, as well as nearly two hundred collections of nouns to add detail to writing and quick guides to easily confused words.

Cradle of Thorns

A spell-binding saga of escape, love and family

Cradle of Thorns

Forced to flee from home, a young woman faces the unknown... but not alone. Cradle of Thorns is a spell-binding tale of freedom in the face of fear from bestselling author Josephine Cox. Perfect for fans of Rosie Goodwin and Lindsey Hutchinson. Nell Reece has never known her mother, and her father's burden of guilt about his wife has kept him cowed for years, working as a common labourer on his sister's farm. But for all her aunt's spiteful attempts to break Nell's independent spirit, she has never succeeded. But now Nell, pregnant and alone, is forced to leave behind the men in her life, believing she might never be able to return. With little but the clothes she wears, she travels across the Bedfordshire countryside of 1890. When she encounters a scruffy urchin called Kit, a ten-year-old orphan who's lived his whole life on the streets, she takes him under her wing. The pair become devoted friends, never knowing where their journey will take them, but each aware that the time will come when there must be a reckoning. What readers are saying about Cradle of Thorns: 'What a fantastic read. As soon as I started reading couldn't put the book down, each turn of the page the story gets better and better' 'Best read in ages. Couldn't put it down - some sad parts, some funny, so real it draws you in' 'I was captivated by the story from beginning to end'

R. F. Outcault's the Yellow Kid

A Centennial Celebration of the Kid who Started the Comics

R. F. Outcault's the Yellow Kid

The Yellow Kid was the main character in the precursor to today's comic strips (and is so well-recognized as such that the US Postal Service has issued a centennial commemorative stamp in his honor). This volume reprints the Yellow Kid strips--for the first time since their original publication in 1895-98--in their entirety and in their original color. Extensive text by Bill Blackbeard, director of the San Francisco Academy of Comic Art traces the history and sets the context. No index. Annotation copyright by Book News, Inc., Portland, OR

Pentecost Alley

A Charlotte and Thomas Pitt Novel

Pentecost Alley

The murder of a prostitute named Ada McKinley in a bedroom on decrepit Pentecost Alley should occasion no stir in Victoria’s great metropolis, but under the victim’s body, the police find a Hellfire Club badge inscribed with the name “Finlay Fitzjames”—a name that instantly draws Superintendent Thomas Pitt into the case. Finlay’s father—immensely wealthy, powerful, and dangerous—refuses to consider the possibility that his son has been in Ada McKinley’s bed. The implication is clear: Pitt is to arrest someone other than Finlay Fitzjames for Ada’s demise. But Thomas Pitt is not a man to be intimidated, and with the help of his quick-witted wife, Charlotte, he stubbornly pursues his investigation—one that twists and turns like London’s own ancient streets.

R. F. Outcault's the Yellow Kid

A Centennial Celebration of the Kid who Started the Comics

R. F. Outcault's the Yellow Kid

Verdenshistoriens første tegneserie, dens baggrund og forhistorie